Group Chats

Start a group chat and share messages with up to 250 people using Workplace Chat on desktop or mobile. Creating a chat for your Workplace group? Find out more about synced chat.

To start a group conversation in Workplace Chat:
  1. Next to Chats, click .
  2. Select or type the name of each person you'd like to include.
  3. Type your message and click or press enter to send.
Was this information helpful?
If you're an admin of a group in Workplace Chat, you can remove someone from the group. To remove someone from a group:
Android:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Tap the name of the group conversation at the top.
  3. Scroll down and tap Members.
  4. Tap next to the person you'd like to remove and tap Remove from group.
iPhone:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Tap the name of the group conversation at the top.
  3. Scroll down and tap Members.
  4. Tap the person you'd like to remove and tap Remove member.
Was this information helpful?
To add someone to a conversation:
iPhone or iPad:
  1. From Chats, open the conversation you want to add someone to.
  2. Tap the person or people's name at the top of the conversation.
  3. Scroll down and tap Create Group or Add People.
  4. Select or type the names of people you want to add and tap Add.
Android:
  1. From Chats, open the conversation you want to add someone to.
  2. Tap the person or people's name at the top of the conversation.
  3. Tap Add People or Create Group with [coworker's name].
  4. Select or type the names of people you want to add and tap Add.
Note: Anyone you add will see all previous messages in the group conversation.
Was this information helpful?
With Mentions, you can directly notify someone in a group conversation that a message needs a response. When you mention someone, they'll get a notification. Only people who are already in the group conversation can be mentioned in a message. You can turn mentions notifications off at any time.
To mention someone in a group conversation:
  1. Open the group conversation
  2. Type @ and then click the name of the person you want to mention
  3. Write your message and then click Send
Note: @everyone will mention everyone who is a member of the chat group and @here will mention all active members of a chat group.
Was this information helpful?
If you're in a group conversation, you can turn message notifications and message reactions on and off.
To turn group conversation notifications off:
  1. Below Chats, hover over the group conversation and click .
  2. Click Mute chat, and select for how long you want the conversation to be muted.
While muted, you'll still be notified about @mentions in this chat.
To turn group conversation notifications on:
  1. Below Chats, hover over the muted group conversation and click .
  2. Click Unmute chat.
Was this information helpful?
If you're an admin of a group conversation in Workplace Chat, you can add other admins. To add someone as an admin of your group conversation in Workplace Chat:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. To the right, hover over the person you'd like to add and click .
  3. Select Make admin, then click Make admin to confirm.
Was this information helpful?
To add coworkers to a group conversation:
  1. Below Chats, click to open the group conversation.
  2. To the right, click +Add people.
  3. Search for the coworkers you'd like to add, then click +Add to chat.
You can also remove someone from a group conversation in Workplace Chat.
Was this information helpful?
If you're an admin of a group conversation in Workplace Chat, you can choose to approve who joins your conversation. To turn on admin approval:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Click to the top-right, then click Admin Options.
  3. Check On to turn this setting on.
Any pending requests will be shown here for you to approve or decline.
Was this information helpful?
You can name conversations with three or more people (including you). To name a conversation:
  1. Below Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Click to the top-right.
  3. Click Customize Chat, then click Rename Chat.
  4. Enter a name for your conversation, and click Save.
  5. You can also include a photo to represent the conversation by clicking Change Chat Photo below Rename Chat.
The name or photo you choose will be what you and the other people in the conversation see when you view your conversation, both in Workplace Chat or messaging on Workplace.
Was this information helpful?
To remove yourself from a group conversation om Workplace Chat from your mobile device:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Tap the names of the people in the conversation at the top.
  3. Scroll down and tap Leave Group.
The other people in the conversation will be notified that you left and you will no longer receive messages from the conversation.
Keep in mind that you can only leave group conversations. You can't leave a one-on-one conversation.
Was this information helpful?
If you're an admin of a group in Workplace, you can remove other admins. To remove an admin from your group in Workplace Chat:
Android:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Tap the name of the group conversation at the top.
  3. Scroll down and tap Members.
  4. Tap next to the person you'd like to remove and tap Remove from group.
iPhone:
  1. From Chats, open the group conversation.
  2. Tap the name of the group conversation at the top.
  3. Tap Members.
  4. Tap next to the person you'd like to remove and tap Remove as Admin.
Was this information helpful?
You can message up to 250 coworkers at once.
If you'd like to share something with a specific group that you're a part of, you can post in the group. All members of the group will be able to see your post, and members that have turned on group notifications will receive a notification about your post.
Was this information helpful?